Advanced Tab 2019-07-08T19:16:29+00:00

Advanced Tab

The Advanced Tab supports control of what Salesforce triggers, validation rules, flows, workflows, and restricted picklists are temporarily disabled during a restore. Note than any item disabled by CopyStorm/Restore will automatically be re-enabled when a restore completes or is cancelled.

Why are these features necessary? Let’s look at a few examples:

  • There is a Salesforce trigger that initiates specific notification for Opportunities larger than $50,000.  During a restore running this trigger would be a bad idea.
  • Validation rules have changed over time and a lot of historical data will not pass the current rules. Disable them during a restore.

Control of the following item types is supported:

Triggers

Disabling triggers rules during a restore is a common necessity to avoid processing. For example, if an Opportunity trigger sends an email on large opportunity creation you will want to avoid this when restoring to a sandbox.  Another common problem is triggers which are not designed to handle large blocks of records and when they receive a large block they exceed the Apex statement limit per transaction.

When a trigger is added using the Edit Trigger Selection button, CopyStorm/Restore will disable the trigger at the beginning of the restore process and re-enable it after the restore completes or is cancelled. Note that on a sandbox the disablement/enablement of triggers is relatively fast, but on a production environment changing the enablement status of a trigger will cause unit tests to run.

Validation Rules

Disabling validation rules during a restore is a common process because older data will often not pass the current validation rules.

In most cases, letting CopyStorm/Restore manage validation rule disablement/enablement is sufficient. When this option is enabled:

  • CopyStorm/Restore disables active validation rules for a table just before data is written to the table.
  • Once updates/inserts to a table are complete, CopyStorm/Restore re-enables the validation rules it disabled in the previous step.

If updates to one table causes updates in another table (for example: an OpportunityLineItem change can cause an update to the Opportunity table) then it may be necessary to explicitly choose validation rules to disable. If a rule is explicitly selected then the rule will be disabled at the beginning of the restore process and re-enabled when the restore process completes or is cancelled.

If automatic management is enabled and a validation rule appears in the explicit list then the automatic management system will ignore the rule.

Process Builder/Flows

Disabling ProcessBuilder/Flows during a restore is a common necessity to avoid processing. For example, if an Opportunity flow sends an email on large opportunity creation you will want to avoid this when restoring to a sandbox.

When a Flow is added using the Edit Flow Selection button, CopyStorm/Restore will disable the Flow at the beginning of the restore process and re-enable it after the restore completes or is cancelled.

Workflow Rules

Disabling workflow rules during a restore is a common process to avoida  process that normally happens when a user enters/modifies a record via the GUI.

In most cases, letting CopyStorm/Restore manage workflow rule disablement/enablement is sufficient. When this option is enabled:

  • CopyStorm/Restore disables active workflow rules rules for a table just before data is written to the table.
  • Once updates/inserts to a table are complete, CopyStorm/Restore re-enables the workflow rules it disabled in the previous step.

If automatic management is enabled and a workflow rule appears in the explicit list then the automatic management system will ignore the rule.

Restricted Picklists

Disabling restricted picklists during a restore is a common process to avoid encountering errors with older records whose values do not meet the criteria of the current picklist definition.

In most cases, letting CopyStorm/Restore manage restricted picklist disablement/enablement is sufficient. When this option is enabled:

  • CopyStorm/Restore disables active restricted picklists for a table just before data is written to the table.
  • Once updates/inserts to a table are complete, CopyStorm/Restore re-enables the restricted picklists it disabled in the previous step.

If automatic management is enabled and a restricted picklist appears in the explicit list then the automatic management system will ignore the rule.

Note that this element will not disabled a Global Picklist (a picklist defined outside of the confines of a specific table).

CONTACTS

Product Questions: info@capstorm.com
Technical Support: support@capstorm.com
Phone: +1 314.403.2143